Our History

ITAN was established in 1991 as Microcomputer Vendors Association of Nigeria (MiVAN) following visionary initiative of Mr. Tayo Adeniyi, MD Worldwide Computers Ltd. In 1995, it transmuted into Computer Vendors Association of Nigeria (CoVAN). Finally in 2000 following the dynamics of its membership base and the industry trends, it further transformed into what is now the Information Technology (Industry) Association of Nigeria (ITAN).

In 2002, following industry pressures and advocacy by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, ITAN joined other stakeholders to form what is now the society of IT professionals in Nigeria, the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS).

ITAN’s first President was Mr. Yinka Edu of A-Z Computers Ltd. In 1995, Mr. Davis Mirilla of Falcon Computers Ltd succeeded him. In 1999, Mr. Chris Uwaje of Connect Technologies Ltd followed. In 2003, Mr. Will Anyaegbunam of Beta Computers Ltd became the President. He was succeeded by Dr. Jimson Olufuye on March 29, 2007.

Engr. (Mrs.) Florence Seriki (CEO of Omatek Computers), the current President of ITAN was elected during the 2011 AGM, along with a board of Directors which includes:

1st Vice President – Mr. Amos Emmanuel (CEO, Programos Software)

2nd Vice President – Mr. Yunusa Yau (Executive Director, CITAD)

Treasurer – Mr. Matthias Ifesieh (CEO, Sagita Systems Ltd)

Council Members – Mr. Dele Ajisomo (Mandriva Africa), Mr. Emma Onuegbu (Zinox Technologies), Mr. Tola Sogbesan (Chace Systems Ltd), Mr. Adeniyi Ekine (Obita Crescent Audio Visual Industry), Mr. David Onu (Interra Networks Ltd), Mr. John Nwosu (Jetlink Nigeria Ltd), Mr. Sagir Mohammed (Intersystems Ltd), Mr. Oamen Okhilua (Yobel Integrated Ltd). Statutory members of the Council are Dr. Jimson Olufuye (Immediate Past President and CEO Kontemporary Ltd), Mr. Tayo Adeniyi (Worldwide Computers Ltd and Initiator of ITAN), and other past presidents in line with the newly approved constitution.